Peeks in….well HELLO THERE! It’s me again. Yep they didn’t fire me last week and said I could do it all over again this week. I hope you all had a wonderful week since we last spoke. I know mine was a busy one! Enough about me, there are so many other amazing people to talk about!

The first person I need to tell you about is Mz Kyra, or Special K as she calls herself. She was our hostess this evening looking stunning in a classic deep blue gown and matching headpiece, casually sipping a cocktail as she greeted guests before the show started. A hostess has a hard job…they have to keep the show rolling, keep the audience interested in between acts…and Kyra did a wonderful job! Great job this evening Kyra!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Kyra Hostess

Our first act was Nova performing to Beyonce’s ‘Halo’. I have loved this song since I first heard it and I was excited to hear she would be dancing to it tonight. The stage was like a starry night, or perhaps heaven. Goodness knows Nova looked heavenly in her delicate gold outfit that had straps intertwining around her legs, finishing off with lovely gold wings. On the stage were ancient ruins, some were scattered about around her. The rain fell and the texture on the stage moved and flickered reminding me of the lightening storm. Nova stood in the middle on a ruin that rose up on the stage. As the music began Nova danced for us as beams of light shimmered with all the movement on stage. The dance was slow and graceful. I know she didn’t wear a halo, but she was angelic none the less. Great job Nova, beautify done!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Nova

From heaven to the disco stage! Only in SL, right? I confess, I love disco. I was born in the disco era but I was too young to remember it. Now as I grow older, I love to crank it up and boogie down. Starlena brought the boogie to Winds tonight with four of her friends, Cyllene, Lotta, Gracie and Coco. The curtains opened and we see a blue and silver stage with disco balls and splashing lights. The five women sauntered on to the stage and shimmied into view as the Bee Gees blasted ‘You Should Be Dancing’. Damn yes you all *should* be dancing! It’s disco!! I digress…the moves these women had would have made the divas of ’54 jealous I tell you, but they wore more clothes tonight than was worn in the 70s I think. Such a shame….Excellent dance Star, we all loved it and chair danced right along with you!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Star

When the glitter settled and was swept away our hostess jumped up on the stage (remember how I said she had a hard job?) to perform for us as well! I have to tell you, this was one cool set. The song she chose was ‘Once Upon A Dream’ (from the movie Melificent) by Lana Del Rey. At first we saw her home, there were two rooms, a bathroom and a bedroom. Kyra was in the bathroom in a lovely peek-a-boo pink flowing gown. As she moved from one room to the other the set began to disappear and change. Items dropped away and items appeared. Trees with shimmering blue tops, the moon, benches and a statue of two lovers holding hands. This was her once upon a dream. Flowers appeared and she danced through them. Then, like a dream, it all faded away again and we were back in her bedroom. I have to tell you I was mesmerized by the colors and the set changes. It was haunting and beautiful all at the same time. Great job Kyra I loved it!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Kyra

Up next was the lovely Lotta and her three dolly friends! Lotta chose a very cool song by one of my favorite singers, Gwen Stefani. The song was ‘Wind It Up’ and each doll dressed as something different. Winnie was Harlequin Doll, Lotta was Posh Doll, Starlena was Goth Doll and Queenie was Rag Doll. Above the dolls in their display cases were the words Wind Up Doll Collection and as the song began then danced their way down the stairs and closer to the audience. Now, I played with Barbie as child and I have to say none were as cool as these dolls. I feel robbed!! The set was very creative with walls that rounded out on the sides and stairs that led up to the dolls. I loved the black and gold textures, it complemented the colorful dolls. Moving in sync the dolls danced their way through the song and personally into our heads because I really loved the song and how it went so well with the set. Excellent job Lotta! It was doll-rific!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Lotta

The movers came in and removed the dolls and we waited for the next act. I really don’t have the words to describe this one folks, you really have to see it for yourself. I love when a dancer thinks out of the box with a song and a set, seeing something truly different than what the song is about, yet fitting it so well. Winnie definitely managed to do just that. Her song was ‘Born This Way’ by Lady Gaga. When the curtains opened and the song began we were bombarded with a scene that made us scratch our heads and clap wildly. Before us were three birdcages suspended from the ceiling. The floor changed colors and patterns and designs. Those cages? They floated down to the stage and in them we see three very colorful crazy, sexy birds (cue Austin Powers voice saying sexy birds) named Winnie, Roni and JMB. The doors to the cages opened and the sexy birds (there is that voice again) danced out and closer to us so we could see them. I can’t tell you what I saw, I don’t have the space for that…but we have included a picture as proof. See this act if she performs it again! It was just so crazy and fun! I’m glad you were not born that way Winnie, but I love the idea that beauty comes in many shapes, colors and sizes. Thank you for reminding us of that! I will never hear that song the same way again!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Winnie

The sexy birds (where is he hiding!?!) were removed from the stage and it was my turn to get out there and dance for everyone!  As I rezzed my set I worried about following something so wild with something so tame. I danced to a cover of the song ‘Rock The Casbah’ by the Clash. I do love the Clash’s version but I heard another version abut a year ago and I had to do a dance to it. It had a much more Arabian beat and sound and I loved that. The artist’s name is Rachid Taha and he has the coolest voice! Check him out! He sung it in his native tongue so if you don’t know the Clash’s version, well…you could hum along! I had a set made up of red and gold curtains, gauzy lamps and a backdrop of the desert. I made a sign that said Rock The Casbah that rotated along with a circular stage. From there, well I rocked the casbah of course!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Queenie

The final act of the evening was a special one, actually more than special. Monday is Cyllene and Rebecca’s anniversary. The dance that Cyllene performed with Rebecca was ‘She Keeps Me Warm’ by Mary Lambert, which was, in my opinion, a dance for both of them for their special day. The dance began with Cyllene standing alone in a stone gazebo, there is a fire burning in the fireplace, the leaves are changing color and fluttering to the ground. Above the gazebo there is a picture frame that is showing pictures of the two of them during their time together in SL. Rebecca dances on to the stage and into Cyllene’s arms and they dance, holding each other…it was almost too intimate to watch. I have to say it was the one dance of the night that not one person made any kind comment in local chat. It remained as quiet as a library for the entire song. We were watching a love story unfold before us and it would have spoiled the moment to talk. The set changes and now we are in a park, it is a bright summer day. The stone gazebo has changed to a heart shaped one. Like bookends, there are two adorable puppies on either side complete with big bows. Instead of leaves, hearts fall from the sky and scatter onto the grass. The two lovely ladies continue to dance and embrace….the whole concept from start to finish painted a very touching love story and we were lucky enough to witness it and be part of their day. Thank you both for all you do for us as dancers and for Winds and most of all, allowing us to be part of your celebration. Congratulations you two!

7-19-2015 - Winds - Cyllene

I wanted to take a moment to add in to this blog a comment from a Winds patron. I was waiting, taking notes and perving…I mean pre-viewing the set before the curtain opened when I caught some local chat.

Tray Porthos said “It’s an incredible amount of work. I am in awe of those that do this week after week.”

Well thank you Tray! It is a lot of work, it is time consuming and really many (meaning me) have no outside life in SL other than dance but we love it and we wouldn’t put ourselves through it if we didn’t.

Well, that’s it for another week! This coming Sunday is BIG one! It’s the theme show and although I don’t want to spoil it, Cyllene has something pretty amazing planned. I can tell you the theme but it will cost you. Please send all L to Queenie Ac……wait Rebecca is calling me…(what? oh really? darn…ok. Thanks.) Ok I’ve been told I’m not allowed to do that it’s against some rule or something….anywho the theme is based on the 1920’s and 1930’s and that is all I can tell you. I imagine flappers and gangsters and bathtub hooch…we will have to just wait and see what the dancers have in store for us! Come early and get a seat, you won’t want to miss this one!

Thank you to everyone that supports the dancers and the Winds…without you we would be an oasis in the desert….with the camels….dancing alone….being sad….

One last special thank you to our fearless DJ, Ms Rebecca because without her, the show would be kinda boring…no music…just us dancing to something…kinda like name that tune but guess that dance!

SEE YOU SUNDAY!

