Tags

So… Winnie posted a preview for this weekend’s themed show at Paramount, and after listening to it… Twice… I’m tapping my foot and it’s stuck in my head. Darn it. We have a saying in the dance community, and it’s–oh my gosh someone is dancing to Zoot Suit Riot on America’s Got Talent!

That’s not the saying.

The saying is “Anything is possible!” If we don’t have that saying, we should. And we do now. Because I said it. It’s out there in the universe. No take-backsies. Bwahahaha!

ANYWAY, as I was standing at my build box earlier and cursing the SL Gods for both the shoddy performance of my viewer today and my apparent complete lack of any of the textures I thought I had that I need for this weekend, I had a moment.

I put on my Barre hud, and I turned around, and I turned my own music for this weekend on (which is NOT Zoot Suit Riot, because I’m just not that cool), and I decided I was just going to dance, and I could figure everything else out later. And then, as I was clicking through the 500-some-odd dance moves that I have in my hud with my fantabulous music blaring in my right eardrum because the bud in my left one is broken, I realized two things:

1. I clearly have a ~problem. Hello. My name is Nova, and I’m a dance-aholic. Thank goodness I dance a lot, or I wouldn’t be able to afford all of my lovely dance animations… So that I can dance a lot. And

2. Holy crap, Batman! This theme, if you haven’t figured it out, is going to be ~interesting. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with, because I am quite possibly having a little too much fun with this theme.

Also, I may have gone shopping for some more dance animations…

As performers in Second Life, we all build these sets and we put together these dance animations into sequences, and we hope that it looks even half as good as we think it looks, or that nothing explodes when we’re finally ready to go on stage, because that’s just no fun at all. We do it again and again each week because it’s fun, and because we love to entertain, and because we want to challenge ourselves and make each week more awesome than the last…

Anything–Literally anything is possible. And I think that this is quite possibly one of the more difficult themes we’ve had in the two-ish years I’ve been dancing at Winds.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go… Pray to the SL Gods some more. And wiggle in my seat while I work on this dance sequence. And on Sunday, when the music starts…

Well, you’ll just have to come and see me to find out, won’t you?

~Nova

