Okay, so a few weeks ago the idea was brought to me to do an interview series with some of the people who dance at Winds and work behind the scenes. Life kind of slapped me around a bit the last couple weeks, but I finally got around to hunting down someone to play guinea pig for the first segment of this little interview series. The first dancer to have a little chat with me was our own Rina (kendrina.fairywren). The lovely Rina is kind of uhm… “fresh meat”, so to speak, as far as the Winds dancers go, so I was really looking forward to finding out what she had to say to some of my questions.

Disclaimer: These little chats are for fun. Questions are often silly, and always completely random. Thank you Rina for playing my guinea pig! Now… Who wants to get to know a little bit more about the lovely Rina?

1. As Winds’ newest dancer, what is it that inspired you to join our fabulously fun and slightly dysfunctional little family?

Well I was looking for a new place to be creative and awesome and all that, and one of my co-workers from another theater told me to come check out the Winds. and of course I did. And I have never been happier here. This place is honestly the most caring and amazing place I have ever danced at.

2. What was the first song you ever did a set to? This doesn’t have to be at Winds.

Oh god you’re gonna make me think now aren’t you? Ok the first one I ever did a set to (and I may actually bring it to the Winds some day) was Last Friday Night by Katy Perry…. The first song I ever performed on stage as a set, was Ragdoll by Lucy Woodard. It was a blast and kinda got me hooked!

3. What would you say is the weirdest thing you have seen since becoming a member of the family at Winds?

Besides me blowing up and maiming Santa’s elves and reindeer?

(I have to insert something in here. The set that Rina is referencing is her dance to Weird Al’s ‘The Night Santa Went Crazy,’ and it was the most fabulous thing I think I’ve ever seen. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again–if you’ve not been to a show at Winds, you NEED to come see us, because you’re missing out! Now, back to Rina’s answer–)

Honestly I don’t know. I’ve seen some cool sets, I wouldn’t call them weird though. Well maybe the people performing them I would call strange and unusual… But I myself am also strange and unusual. And yes I did just quote Beetlejuice to you. You’re welcome *giggles*

(Thanks, Rina! We ALL need an awesome movie  reference every once in a while!)
4. What sort of advice would you give someone looking to get into the cabaret business in Second Life?

Ummm…. Let’s see… Don’t be like me? What I have to say is, I haven’t totally mastered yet myself, but I’m working on it. Just remember, it’s a lot of hard work and there are a lot of talented people in these places. But if you’re there that means you are just as talented so keep your head up and shine! I’m gonna quote something else now… I’m not sure who said it or anything but it’s always served me well: “Shoot for the moon, even if you fail you will land among the stars.”

5. Several of us at Winds have a flare for the dramatic. Have Chrissy, me, or any of the other dancers “killed” you in a set yet? Which one? If it hasn’t happened yet, who do you think will be the first to do it?

Not yet… And I have a feeling it’s gonna be you Nova! I don’t know why… But we will just call it a gut feeling. And by the way, I would totally be game for dying on a set in case anyone needs it!

AND FOR 1,000,000 BONUS POINTS….
6. You’re trapped in a karaoke bar. The only way to get the crazy man at the door to let you out is do a song. Journey is NOT an option. What would you pick to swoon your way to freedom?

Any of them! i’m a singer in real life, so bring it on! But if I had to choose, it would be “Bring Me To Life” by Evanescene or “Don’t Speak” by No Doubt. But honestly? Just give me a song that I’ve at least heard once and we will be fine!

So, ladies and gentlemen, what did we learn today about Miss Rina? Well, we learned that she has fabulous tastes in music, is a wealth of awesome quotes, and is a songbird in real life when she’s not dancing the night away with exploding reindeer in Second Life (seriously guys, you should have seen that set!).  We also learned that Rina seems to think innocent lil old me will be the first one to bring her to a dramatic and fabulous demise during a show.

*Cackles evilly* Perhaps you’ll have to check out our shows if you want to find out if she’s right! Please remember to come see us Sunday evenings at 5pm SLT. You can catch me, Rina, and all of the other talented and sexy dancers every week! And if you check the blog, the next interview will be out soon. Who, pray tell, do you think my next victim will be?

❤ Nova

